Optional Summer Residency
From UBC Creative Writing
The Optional Summer Residency offers an intensive ten days of programming to motivate and challenge our students’ writing practice, while connecting students with faculty, guest authors, industry professionals, distance education and on-campus students.
- Amount
- $3,000
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- Where you must live
- Not stated
- Art forms
- Writing
- Application fee
- Not stated
- Kind
- Residency
Always confirm the details with the funder before you apply. Saves stay in this browser, on this device. See them all on the Saved tab.
What is offered
Money to you
- Thanks to the generous gift of an anonymous donor, we are able to provide awards of $3000 for two continuing Indigenous, Black, or People of Colour (IBPOC) students to attend the summer residency.
In the funder's words, from their page, read September 26, 2026.
Eligibility
Our Optional Summer Residency is open to all incoming and returning distance education MFA students and to returning on campus MFA students in their second year and beyond. We usually offer one BFA workshop during the residency, open to returning BFA students. The residency is worth 3 credits (in term 2), so you’d need to take another 3 credits (in term 1), or be registered in thesis to be eligible for any summer awards. Students who join our program in July and attend the residency in their first year will not be eligible for awards until September.
What to send
Not stated by the funder
Not yet checked against the funder's page.
Source: https://creativewriting.ubc.ca/graduate/optional-summer-residency/ (opens in a new tab). Our research read it on September 26, 2026.
See something wrong or out of date?